GMA Signs into Law Bill Expanding the Court of Tax Appeals

Posted: June 12, 2008
By Jay B. Rempillo

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo this afternoon signed into law RA 9503 which expanded the organizational structure of the Court of Tax Appeals (CTA) through the creation of a third division of three CTA Justices at the En Banc Session Hall, New Building, Supreme Court, Manila.

Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno, Senate President Manuel B. Villar, Jr., House Speaker Prospero C. Nograles, CTA Presiding Justice Ernesto D. Acosta and the CTA Associate Justices, and the legislators who authored the bill were present to witness the event.

Under RA 9503 (An Act Enlarging the Organizational Structure of the Court of Tax Appeals, Amending for the Purpose Certain Sections of the Law Creating the Court of Tax Appeals, and for Other Purposes), the CTA may now sit en banc or in three Divisions, each consisting of three Justices.

“Five Justices shall constitute a quorum for sessions en banc and two Justices for sessions of a Division: Provided, That when the required quorum cannot be constituted due to any vacancy, disqualification, inhibition, disability, or any other lawful cause, the Presiding Justice shall designate any Justice of other Divisions of the Court to sit temporarily therein,” RA 9503 provides.

Established in 1954 pursuant to RA 1125, the CTA’s membership consisted only of a Presiding Justice and two Associate Justices, each of whom were appointed by the President. RA 1125 was subsequently amended by RA 9282 under which the CTA was made to sit en banc and in two divisions of three justices each.

At present, the members of the CTA are Presiding Justice Acosta and Associate Justices Juanito C. CastaƱeda, Jr., Lovell R. Bautista, Erlinda P. Uy, Caesar A. Casanova, and Olga Palanca-Enriquez. Presiding Justice Acosta chairs the 1st Division with Justices Bautista and Casanova as members, while Justice CastaƱeda chairs the 2nd Division with Justices Uy and Palanca-Enriquez as members.

Under the new RA, the CTA will be given a budget of PhP20M “necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act” to be taken from whatever source available in the National Treasury.

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo (center) signs into law RA 9503 at the Supreme Court Session Hall. The law enlarged the Court of Tax Appeals’ membership from six to nine Justices. The CTA may now sit en banc or in three divisions with three Justices each. Witnessing the signing are (from left)Senator Edgardo J. Angara, Executive Secretary Eduardo R. Ermita, House Speaker Prospero C. Nograles, Vice President Noli L. De Castro, Senate President Manuel B. Villar, Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno, House Representatives Edcel C. Lagman and Ma. Amelita C. Villarosa, and CTA Presiding Justice Ernesto D. Acosta. (Caption by Bryan Dennis G. Tiojanco; Photo by Francisco S. Gutierrez.)


[ source : www.supremcourt.gov.ph ]


Revenue Regulations (RRs)
are issuances signed by the Secretary of Finance, upon recommendation of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue, that specify, prescribe or define rules and regulations for the effective enforcement of the provisions of the National Internal Revenue Code (NIRC) and related statutes

Revenue Memorandum Orders (RMOs) are issuances that provide directives or instructions; prescribe guidelines; and outline processes, operations, activities, workflows, methods and procedures necessary in the implementation of stated policies, goals, objectives, plans and programs of the Bureau in all areas of operations, except auditing.

Revenue Memorandum Rulings (RMRs) are rulings, opinions and interpretations of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue with respect to the provisions of the Tax Code and other tax laws, as applied to a specific set of facts, with or without established precedents, and which the Commissioner may issue from time to time for the purpose of providing taxpayers guidance on the tax consequences in specific situations. BIR Rulings, therefore, cannot contravene duly issued RMRs; otherwise, the Rulings are null and void ab initio

Revenue Memorandum Circular (RMCs) are issuances that publish pertinent and applicable portions, as well as amplifications, of laws, rules, regulations and precedents issued by the BIR and other agencies/offices.

Revenue Bulletins (RB) refer to periodic issuances, notices and official announcements of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue that consolidate the Bureau of Internal Revenue's position on certain specific issues of law or administration in relation to the provisions of the Tax Code, relevant tax laws and other issuances for the guidance of the public.

BIR Rulings are official position of the Bureau to queries raised by taxpayers and other stakeholders relative to clarification and interpretation of tax laws.
real estate central philippines
Copyright ©2008-2019